Shri Ajitesh Kumar belongs to 2006 Batch of Central Power Engineering (Group-A) Service selected through Engineering Service Examination, 2005 conducted by Union Public Service Commission. He did his B. Tech (Electrical Engineering) from Govind Bhallabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar (Uttrakhand).

He joined Central Electricity Authority, New Delhi in 2008 and was dealing in the appraisal of Detailed Project Reports of Hydro Electric project till 2016. In 2016 he was deputed to Tehri Hydro Development Corporation Limited (THDCIL) for Hands-on-Exposure to power plant operation and was posted in Power House of Tehri Hydro Electric Project, Uttrakhand.

After returning back to CEA in 2017 he was posted in Power System Project Monitoring Division and worked there till Sep, 2019 dealing with matters of transmission projects awarded under Tariff Based Competitive Bidding Scheme and other transmission projects of national importance.

At present he is serving deputation under Central Staffing Scheme of Govt. of India as Deputy Secretary at Ministry of Coal and is responsible for allocation matters of coal/lignite blocks under Mine & Mineral (Development and Regulation) Act, 1957.

He was appointed as Permanent Invitee on CMPDIL Board w.e.f. 13.01.2020.